I hate Microsoft

BassMan449

So to celebrate my new job I splurged and bought myself a xbox 360. I've had an original Xbox for years and still play it fairly regularly and several of my friends have 360s so I really wanted one.

13 days since purchase, haven't played it in 3 days, and I turn it on tonight to the wonderful Red Ring of Death. Needless to say, I'm rather upset.

I am having trouble seeing why you are upset, stuff such as the Red Ring of Death are expected from M$... By the way, welcome to the "I hate Microsoft" club, I am pretty sure I am a officer of some sort lol!!! :)

I am a firm hater of microsoft when it comes to Windows and PCs, but I have owned my xbox for years and I love it and I think the 360 is overall a great console. I new the Red ring was a possibility, but I didn't expect it in under 2 weeks.

Did you get the replacement plan wherever you got it? I know it's saved my brother a major headache 3 times now. Kinda surprised you didn't end up with a Jasper unit, unless of course you got a Pro or Elite.

Hey, don't feel too bad, my first one crapped out after only two or three days of actual use.

The good news is you should still be able to return it to the store for a new one, just as long as you have a way to back up whatever data it had or don't mind losing it.

If you do this, be certain that whatever model you get is the most recent variety possible, it should be more reliable. Do some searching on the web for the key to the finding the most recent serial numbers and check them out before you exchange for one. I got a new one of a newer SKU than the first and it has fared much better.

As for the hating of Microsoft, just remind yourself that to a large extent, they at least produce real games of some value rather than mini-game collections and exercises in swinging your controller around as if doing so actually made for a fun game.