Linux huh! what is it good for?

amusedtoe

So yea I've gone really crazy and will soon be downloading Linux (RedHat to be exact) onto my computer via my wee tiny 28.8 connection (ph3ar) going at a maximum of 10 mb per hour (ph3ar sqaured). Now this will be several gigs and take probably close to a month so now before I embark on chasing my white guppy would anyone wish to share with me what Linux is good for (aside from servers seeing as I might've been able to host one 15 years ago), what kind of stuff is out there for it, and why I should or should not download it very very slowly?

-Trevor
-amusedtoe

it gives a lot more freedom then windows cause its Unix based... although i have little experience =/

i heard it rox. i was going to install it once but ihad a laptop and i heard it has issues with laptop monitors. That was v6 though a long while ago.

all sort of things are out there for it, and it's a wonderful development environment for c++

but the first question i would ask is what do you need it for? why spend a month downloading an operating system unless you need it for some reason

also you can buy a version of linux at any wal-mart (or at least you use to be able to) for like $25, so why not buy it if you want/need it.

as for what u can do with it, anything u can do with your windows machine. WinXP is very similar to Linux windowing systems, and there are really nice Windows emulators for linux.

Basically, Linux/Unix is a command driven OS compared to the typical GUI you find with Windows. Linux/Unix is much more stable, manages memory 100% better and you don't have to restart Linux boxes every other hour (especially after installing something). It also more secure, and you don't see 5+ service packs per release unlike Windows. The good thing about Windows is that my 5 year old little sister can use it.