Christian WoW Guilds Field Research!

Kaiousei

Hello! My name is Dawn Davis and I am an undergraduate Religious Studies student who is writing her thesis on religion in video games! Much in the spirit of my predecessor Dr. Freeman.

This semester I am taking a course on field research and I thought it would be fun for me to study two things I love, religion and wow together. Specifically, I was hoping to join a Christian WoW guild to experience the camraderie and write about it myself. This sort of research won't be published anywhere, I'll only include what people would like included, and individual guild members can ask not to participate. If you like, I would also be happy to post everything here or to your home guild forums for review.

Basically what I'm asking is if anyone here belonging to a Christian guild on WoW would like to adopt a student for a month and a half? I'm not new to WoW, but I only have one 80 (Meida: a night elf priest on Wyrmrest Accord - you can find her in the armory!)

I plan on taking the perspective of a "participant observer" in this study, where I will play with you, guild with you, trade with you, chat with you, and all the while try to learn what I can about how you operate. There may be questions, there may be interviews, but everything only goes as far as the interviewee is willing. Everything will be done by the standards of the Saint Mary's University Research Ethics Board: http://www.smu.ca/academic/reb/ I'm not here to pressure anyone, I'm just here to see how you work. Individuals are welcome to pull out their participation at any time. I want to be a fly on the wall, but of course to put in my share as well to the guild bank.

If you have any questions feel free to reply here or to send me a pm.

According to our guild leader, we're game -- pun intended. You can find our forums just down a little.