Best iOS games?

Tek7

CGA President, Tribe of Judah Founder & President
Staff member
Well, I had planned not to install ANY games on the iPhone I received for work...but then I cracked and installed Tiny Tower to see what all the fuss was about. I...still don't see what all the fuss was about.

But having tried a few free iOS games, I'm wondering if there are any great games on the App Store. Most feel like Flash games, though even that's not a fair assessment since I've played several games on Kongregate that are actually quite good. Perhaps I should say most free iOS games feel like early Flash games.

And don't worry: I won't play any games on my work phone during work hours. I'm a professional, after all. Occasionally checking my Tamagotchi skyscraper once or twice a night after I'm home from work is fair game, though. :)

Played a bit of Swordigo today. Fun game. IMO, Swordigo doesn't feel or look cheap like so many iOS games. It's one of the first iOS games that's held my interest for more than a few minutes.

Ice Rage was fun for the few minutes I played it, but it featured the same "BUY THIS CHARACTER FOR $0.99" nickel-and-diming (not a real word, but you know what I mean) that seems to plague iOS F2P games.

The controls for Wolf3D iOS felt awful to me. Maybe I just need to stick with it until I "get it."

Dungeon Raid looks like my type of game (yay puzzle RPG!) but apparently I stink at it. Going to give it another try, though.

May skip Hero Academy if it's multiplayer only. Looks like fun, though.

Dungeon Raid is awesome! Try Triple Town. Keep Puzzle Quest 2 on appshopper list for when it might become free, heck keep 200+ games on appshopper like I do so you get an email when they drop to free. I figure I have got $500+ in free apps thanks to appshopper. It seems just about every game goes free at least 1 day a year. Gotta be quick sometimes. It is a frugal gamers crack stop.

Last edited:
100 Rogues when its free (which is often)