Want To Build A New PC

[toj.cc]phantom

Tribe of Judah Membership Administrator
Ok guys I need your help, I want to build a new PC but I'm not very good at doing it cheap. I used to get my dads hand-me-downs when he'd upgrade his, but since I no longer live with him he gives them to my stepbrother. The last time I bought a new anything was probably 2008, and although I've been able to play the new games that have come out, I think its time to upgrade. So here's what I have right now;

Disc Drives: Total 3 (500GB, and 2 60GB)
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT
Processors: AMD Athlon 64 FX-60 Dual Core ~2.6GHz
RAM: 2.5GB
MOBO: A8N32-SLI Deluxe

I'd like to limit myself to $700 or $800 if possible so it doesn't take me forever to save up. I've asked elsewhere and have been told I only need to upgrade my video card, but I would also like to upgrade my processor and add more RAM.

This is the new video card that was recommended to me, Radeon HD 6670.

Last edited:
If you upgrade your processor you'll need a new motherboard, ram, and graphics card anyway.

You can very easily build a pretty good system for $800. If it's ok I'll try and pick out some items for you.

Here's what I found:

EVGA GTX 560 1GB 256-bit - $189.99
Corsair HX750 750W Power Supply - $144.99
G.SKILL 8GB 1333 (PC3 10666) - $42.99
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V 1155 Micro ATX - $64.99
Intel Core i5-3570k Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz 1155 77W - $229.99

Total: $672.95

That gives you some wiggle room if you need to get an audio card or a case or something like that.

Last edited:
If you upgrade your processor you'll need a new motherboard, ram, and graphics card anyway.

You can very easily build a pretty good system for $800. If it's ok I'll try and pick out some items for you.

Here's what I found:

EVGA GTX 560 1GB 256-bit - $189.99
Corsair HX750 750W Power Supply - $144.99
G.SKILL 8GB 1333 (PC3 10666) - $42.99
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V 1155 Micro ATX - $64.99
Intel Core i5-3570k Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz 1155 77W - $229.99