Shameful Sin

newktguy

Sorry, I made two topics in about a month already and here is the third but I am just wondering... and I'm new in my walk with God.

What does the bible say about Shameful Sins? And confessing it to other people? Basically, I have done something very shameful in the past. When I think back on it I just feel disgusted and I am not sure what I'm supposed to do.

James chapter 5 scared me because it said Confess to each other for healing. Confess to who? The person whom it occurred with? To my parents? To the church? I also read somewhere that the bible said to do some things privately...

It's basically one of those skeletons in the closet, one of the shameful things in our past and I am just afraid of others knowing about it. Do they HAVE to know about it? Do other people have to know? The bible says God places our sin far away from us and "forgets" about it so why would he have me confess it(my fear, him telling me to confess to someone) if it's no more and I don't have to worry about it?

I haven't felt guilty about it(because I know God has forgiven me) until a few days ago when someone asked me a question regarding a certain topic... it's just the thought of me having to confess it to other people that is scary. I'm don't feel guilty about the sin because I know God has forgiven me and I placed it behind me already but it's just the thought of others knowing about it that is getting me freaked out.

I got over that but then today I saw this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OlfS9skI-s

Basically a Christian music group and their song and explaining that confessing to others like James stated is good for healing and that it's not a good thing that us Christians don't feel safe enough in our Churches and communities to open up about our secrets(If I understood correctly), not expecting our church family to embrace us with open arms.