Minecraft multiplayer

Flamethrøwer

Hey guys!

I'm a noob to the game (just dicovered minecart tracks and still think they're pretty neat), and hopped on the multiplayer server a bit last night. I had no idea how it's organized or how to conduct myself. I snooped around someone's area, accidentally broke some wood, replaced it, took an endless number of doors/halls/portals to who knows where, and ended up logging out somewhat confused :p

Do I just find an unused plot of land somewhere and do what I want with it? On my own single player world, I've been quite content to build nice structures, mine, tackle the occasional dungeon, and learn at my own pace. Am I free to do that on this server, as long as I don't disturb anyone else's stuff? Am I safe to assume no one would disturb my 'area'? Just let me know the standards of conduct expected on the server.

Thanks and I look forward to seeing everyone's awesome creations!

Just read the Server Info, and it answered a lot of my questions.

I'll find a nice plot of land somewhere and start building!

What did you mean by "needlessly expand the map"?

What did you mean by "needlessly expand the map"?

Minecraft generates terrain as people explore new areas however all that terrain is stored once generated. More terrain = bigger map for the server to have to handle. I'm not sure what qualifies as a reasonable distance to explore though.

Actually I think I went to far on one of my exploration trips way back on the server XD. I was actually looking for a specifically sized island. Unfortunately Minecraft decided to generate nothing but land for a long while XD .

Ah, I see. Hopefully my exploration and spelunking will stay in bounds then! I've been content so far to keep everything (above ground) in sight of my central location.