Is it a sin for me to keep playing WoW?

Phrankdatank

Alright, here's my thing. I've been playing wow for the past 9 months, and like it alot, but am worried that it's a sin to play it, mainly due to all the magic/occult references i see in the game, and the Bible says that Christians aren't to have anything to do with that stuff, right?

One thing that really bothered me was one night i had a dream about wow where I was playing it and on screen appeared these demons in the form of the resto druid tree form, which scared me and i kept saying they weren't real, but they wouldn't leave me alone until I threw wow away, and when i installed it again, they came back and went away only when i threw it away again.

I took that as a sign from God that i should quit playing wow. Do you think its due to the magic stuff in wow or due to the fact that I'm getting addicted to it? I sometimes on the weekend play so much that i can't sleep and get up in time for church.

I do not know you but I will be honest in what I think...if you are asking this question and have those kinds of emotions/experiences behind it, I would most definitely say it is a sin for you to play WoW and you should heed the Spirit and stop playing immediately. I am sure you can find many WoW players here that tell you it is OK but in your particular case if you keep playing I fear you will quench the Spirit.

You have been given a sign, act on it and get out now. Church should be a priority as well as fellowship with family and Christian friends. That can be done to an extent in the game of WoW but in your case I think it is clear the Spirit is telling you otherwise.

Sorry if its not what you wanted to hear. :)

ps. this opinion of mine refers only to you and your situation. I know there are many great Christian brothers and sister of mine playing the game and it is not a sin for them.

Last edited:
Something from my study Bible:

1 Cor 10-11: