Content management systems

Tek7 (Legacy)

CGA & ToJ President
What content management system do you think is the best? While I use PHP-Nuke for all of the web sites I currently manage, I'd like to branch out and try some new systems.

If you have any suggestions, please post them here with a brief description and link to the CMS's home page.

Thanks!
biggrin.gif

Tek, what kind of CMS solution are you looking for? High end? Enterprise solution? Java? ASP? Or are you staying in "PHP + MySQL = Free" land?

I've been researching and working with various CMS's for the past 2 years so I can point you to a whole whack of solutions, but strangely enough, I haven't gotten into PHP-Nuke yet.
rock.gif

Obviosly, CGA is currently using PHP Nuke. Most of the other Unix CMS's are much like Nuke anyway...but for some change you might want to try Geeklog. I host a geeklog website for Sir Ryan, which is here.

If you want to convert, Tek, let me know, because I am the webmaster
biggrin.gif

for my personal websites (wrighton.org) I built my own using the Rich Text Editor found here http://www.openmymind.net/ using PHP

for my Apologetics site I built my own using the Rich Text Editor found here http://www.fredck.com/FCKeditor/ using ASP.Net (the backend is .net while the front end is classic ASP)

With my company I've built a number of them using various Rich Text Editors. FCKEditor is my favorite, with the best feature set and the greatest price (free)

Dot Net Nuke is built of the IBuySpy portal Microsoft used as a demo for its technology. The portal is very robust and we used it at my work for a custom CMS solution. The only problem would be its possible dependency on using SQL Server as the backend database.

Actually, we use the FCKEditor on the ToJ website for the news and calendar forms. Although it is just an WYSIWYG editor. It doesn't do any other type of content management.

Post Nuke is another popular Nuke variant. CCGR uses a CMS for ASP called MaxWebPortal.

[b said: