Holy Priest Raid Heals

Chaska

So, my Holy priest just hit 80 and I'm decently well off doing 5-man stuffs but I have no experience in raid healing. So I was wondering how it all works. Any advice for general raid healing and specific to Holy priest healing would be appreciated. :D

For UI setup, I use Grid and what I call "mouseover" macros. I have one for each heal. This means that I cast on whatever i have my mouse over, usually one of the Grid boxes. The key here is that you don't need to click on and target whatever you want to heal. If you want I can show you how to set this up. There are probably a number of mods that do this or similar. Grid has a few other nice features, like indicating if someone has aggro, which can be useful for anticipating incoming damage.

Probably the toughest part of healing is predicting and anticipating incoming damage. Based on this, you have to make choices about what heals to use, and when to begin casting. Really the best way to improve this is with experience. Practice, practice, practice. Learn from your mistakes. If you have trouble healing a heroic run or raid encounter (and there are some hard ones to solo heal), don't get discouraged, instead analyze where things went wrong, think about what you could have done differently, and try again.

Some practical help I guess: As long as you're not running out of mana, you probably can overheal the tank. Just keep casting your big heal - you can always cancel in the last second. This works in fights where the tank is eating a lot of damage. Reacting with a hot and fast heal sometimes just isn't fast enough. Intense healing fights tend to also be DPS races, not intended to last long. Longer, less healing intensive fights tend to give you more time to use that 5 second rule and let your spirit kick in. You sit back and let your HoTs do their thing while you wait for the next big hit on your tank.