Writing challenge for APRIL

Patriot

Hope nobody has any objections. . .figured I would start April's challenge following dorkelf's format. If I have stepped out of bounds feel free to knee me in the stomach and push me back in line. =)

This thread is now in the SUBMISSIONS phase. Please do not post critiques or comments until posted that it has entered the CRITIQUE phase.

The story idea: Use the phrase "what goes up must come down" as the inspiration for your story.

Your story must be no more than 300 words. Its a good idea to let yourself write a longer story and then cut it down to 300 words. This process will teach you a lot about how to get your ideas across to the reader...and how to eliminate ideas that are not necessary to your story.

The time to write is now! Support the cgalliance writing community with your participation! I'm looking forward to seeing the ideas you come up with!

Go easy. This is my first attempt at creative writing in a really long time. 300 words exact.

James Thompson was having the worst day of his life. His mother woke him up from a dream that he was really enjoying - who wouldn't want to trick Sally Jackson into eating a mud pie? Breakfast was the pits. Cream of Wheat. Just the thought of it made him a little queasy. His bike got a flat tire three houses down the street. His favorite television program was canceled because the baseball game was running long. His grandmother was making their dinner, just like she did every Thursday. The worst would be when grandma gave him a big sloppy kiss and pinched his cheek. And to top it off, even during dinner, everyone acted like they forgot his birthday. After dinner, his mother decided they should take a walk over to the park. He couldn't help but think about how dreadful this would be without his friends.