Theistic Evolutionist

tjguitarz

Are there any theistic evolutionists around? Specifically someone with a moderate understanding of biochemistry, geology, astronomy, and the science of evolution. I have no one in my life who follows Christ and accepts evolution, and I need a mature friend to bombard with questions.

I had a professor in college (physics professor who was a strong Christian) who believed in evolution...and that God did it. It's not that uncommon a viewpoint, but I imagine it is hard enough to find people like that...especially if you're looking for people who would admit it in church.... Anyway, this professor hated the terms "evolutionist" and "Creationist" because he didn't like the connotation that they have to be mutually exclusive. I'm by no means an expert in those areas of science, but I might suggest a book for you. I can't really remember much of the book, to be honest, but I remember it being interesting. I got it for an honors class in college called Show Me God (like the title of the book), taught by the same professor I mentioned before.
http://www.amazon.com/Show-Me-God-Message-Telling/dp/1885849532

Edit: As I recall, the book might not directly answer your questions, but I thought of it because it's kind of related.

By saying "accepting evolution" are you meaning that God had us evolved from apes as defined in Maco-evolution, or that God uses micro-evolution, that is variations between kinds of animals (short people, tall people, long haired dogs, short haired dogs, etc.)?

Since tj talked about biochemistry, geology, astronomy, etc, I was thinking more of the origins of the earth and young vs old earth theory rather than apes when I typed my previous post.... So now that I think about it, maybe that sounded kind of random....