College!

Greetings CGA,
It's been a while since my last visit/last post, but I'd like to let you know that somehow I'm still alive. Right now I'm on some crazy path of pure greatness that comes from accomplishment. Normally I'm used to coasting by, hating school, etc., but now that I'm a freshman, I'm having
SO
MUCH
FUN.

For starters, calculus is actually going by quickly this time. Of course, it's only 1 semester long, so naturally it is faster, but there's also less stupidity in the assignments. I'm actually doing the work because I know I'll need it to do well on the exams, not avoiding it because I know I'll pass anyway.

And my teachers are all great. Even though I can't say I'm excited about the topics we're going to discuss in Nature & Human Values (a course mixing ethics and writing, required for all engineering majors here), I must say that the teacher is a very understanding person who actually sees things in a fair, non-biased way. For example, she loves doing class discussions where we debate opinions that we read about in our assigned readings, and she doesn't pick a side and say that any of us are wrong.

My calculus teacher is really interesting, so my calculus class is just as interesting. That always helps where focus and study are concerned. The way the course is set up allows me to be efficient and understand the path ahead of me, not blindly navigate through math like I've essentially done the past 13 years.

My physics teacher is probably the strangest person I've ever met but it actually makes the class worth going to. And I have a great lab group in that class. I can't say so much about the material we're studying. However, the homework system in that class is almost as convenient and useful as the calculus homework system (only I don't know when I'll have homework until the week I get it).