About gta: vice city

H

Humanoid-X

I want peoples' opinion... Is it bad to play Grand Theft Auto: Vice City for the PlayStation 2 and have no conviction about its content? My bro. in law is a PK, a Christian, and he loves the game. I also have it and play it sometimes...but I'm not addicted to it. I mostly like seeing how many stars I can build up while trying to run away from the police in the game. Another Christian friend of mine will play it with me (or watch) and we'll laugh about all the stupid stuff that goes on in the game.

Yet, another Christian friend of mine played it for a while and thought it was funny, and then he decided to boycott it because he felt convicted. Am I being desensitized to the game's content? Should I feel guilt for enjoying the game? I'm old enough and mature enough to distinguish a game from reality, and have no desire to steal cars or mow over gang members with an uzi in real life. I've been playing video games for over 25 years. I know a lot of people on here play online games with guns and blood and guts as well. What do you all think of this? Is it wrong?

i'm not going to tell you where to draw your line but as a Christian it's good to draw a line and stand behind. If you don't feel right playing it, don't!
I won't bother with it for the violence, prostitution, stealing. There's nothing morally redeeming about that game. Wasn't it banned by some countries?

I personally wouldn't feel right playing it. but I'll leave that for you to decide. A strick rule of thumb is would you let your kid play it? If not, why are you?

I have yet to abide by that rule wholly, but I do turn off swearing and gore when possible. I refuse to play games with occult symbols. That's my line.