The search for the historical Spider-man

Neirai the Forgiven

Christian Guilds List Manager
Some say he was a hero. Some, a good man or even a great teacher. Still other claim that he was a dangerous renegade.

And then there are those who claim he was more. More than a man.

The man known as Peter Parker has a story that is so shrouded in myth and legend and fantasy and wild speculation that these myths and fantasies have become part of the story. For the most part, it would not be too much of a charge to say that the entire story is a pack of lies, if I be so bold. But the story has persisted through time. This points to the idea that the story contains some truth at its core. And, if we can discover that truth, we may discover something about ourselves -- what motivates and fascinates and enthralls our minds.

I'm Maximilian Skinner, and discovering that truth is my job.

Well, mine and a few others. You see, I'm a researcher at the Columbian Institute for Third Millennium History. My team and my rivals dissect the ancient legends to find out what we can about the psyches, imaginations, struggles, and zeitgeist of our ancestors.

Many of my fellow researchers believe that the Parker Story is somewhat factual. The notion is silly at best, but some of us, notable B. G. Hemwright, have managed to spark the public eye. That's why I'm writing this. To let you know that there is nothing supernatural or superhuman about the man we call Peter Parker. His story is scattered and inconsistent and hard to grasp, but it is a simple story, with the greatest height of absurd embellishments.

While it is difficult to separate fact from fiction, here is what we do know:

Parker (we do not know his first name) was a police officer living sometime between 1960 and 2050. We believe that computer technology first arose during his lifetime. Evidence supports this theory, as he seems to avoid the use of computers, but they seem to be present.